University of the Third Age Hawthorn

University of the Third Age Hawthorn | Members statements

24 May 2018

Mr PESUTTO (Hawthorn) (09:52:29) — On 16 May I had the pleasure of attending the annual general meeting of the Hawthorn University of the Third Age (U3A) in my electorate, where I was present at the election of the new committee for 2018. I would like to place on record my thanks to the new committee for this year for their hard work: President Peter Hardham, with a committee supported by Linda Baynham, Meg Adams, Norm Fary, Bruce Lancashire, Irving Miller, Stefanie Sowerby, David Bennett, Sue Waller, Frank Egan, Ruth Muir, Nathan Feld and Ian McKenzie. In particular I would like to acknowledge on behalf of the entire Hawthorn electorate the great work of Meg Adams, who has been president for a number of years and has taken Hawthorn U3A from strength to strength. She is a former Boroondara Citizen of the Year and an absolute stand-out in our local community.

I also want to recognise the great work of the U3A itself. It was established in 1984 and is one of the more longstanding U3As in our community. U3As are so vital. They provide adult recreational activities for retired and semiretired people. In terms that I would like, there are no entry qualifications or examinations, so I am seriously thinking about Hawthorn U3A for myself. I want to place on record all the work of the great volunteers at Hawthorn U3A, who do a great job for our local community.

About the Author